IT’S KIND OF FUNNY

IMG_0481Yesterday a friend was asking me what I studied in college. When I told him that I earned a degree in Hospitality and Tourism Management, he said “Oh, so you’ve always known that you wanted to work in hotels?”

Long story short, no I did not always know. In high school, I applied to about 12 different colleges and every one of them I applied to study journalism. For some wacky reason, San Diego State was the only college that I applied with a hospitality major. And even though I thankfully got into a handful of different colleges, for some wacky reason I ended up choosing San Diego State University. It’s just so funny how things work out sometimes.

If I had gone to a school and studied journalism, I wonder where I would have been? What would I be doing? Where would I be living?

But my favorite part of the conversation was when my friend said, “But if you hadn’t studied hospitality you might not be working here. And I might not have met you.” Come on. It was such a sweet little dash of honey in my day and it made me think about how beautiful life is.

It’s kind of funny, isn’t it? It’s kind of funny when you think about the little moments that make up our lives. If my mom hadn’t gotten a job at that bar in college, she might not have poured my dad’s drinks. If my Grandpa hadn’t been in the Marines, my Grandma might not have fallen in love while writing letters to him overseas. If my dad hadn’t taken a job in California, I might not have grown up in my beloved Northern California town. It’s kind of funny how when you take a moment to think about life and the tiny little moments that make it up, it can make you dizzy.

Do you know what I mean? Are you feeling dizzy now?

if you’re lucky enough to have one of those moments when you say wow, you’re lucky enough

 

2 thoughts on “IT’S KIND OF FUNNY

  1. I think about that too sometimes – it’s kind of amazing all the ‘coincidences’ and happenstances that created our life, our interests, and our personalities.

Thoughts?

