A THOUGHT FOR FRIDAY: DECISIONS

love your decisions

I have two sides (at least) to me. In some ways I can make very quick decisions with little discussion. I decided to move to Chicago after thinking about it for approximately two days. QUICK! I decided to redo an old procedure at work after being in my position for less than a month. QUICK! And then there are times when I lag completely on whether or not to do something. I can stand in front of my nail polish selection for well over five minutes trying to determine what color goes best with the season, my outfit, or my mood before picking a color. I am currently weighing options for a new haircut for the fall. I am going apartment hunting and want to see apartments in three completely different neighborhoods.

Most recently, I have realized that I really want a dog. I am about to move into a new apartment by myself and it is just a constant longing in my heart. I have asked everyone’s opinion and there are people on both sides of the fence. “Don’t get a dog, you work full time.” “Get a dog! You are active and you would love your dog so much.” “Don’t get  a dog, they are so expensive.” “Get a dog, it is so rewarding and worth the cost.”

Yesterday I was having lunch with a few coworkers and we were talking about my dilemma – to get a friendly companion or not? I finally huffed “I think I just need to do what I think is right, I cannot worry about what other people think.” As I said this an executive I work with walked by. And he made my day. He jumped right into our conversation and said, “Lizzie don’t care what anyone else thinks. You know what you want to do, that’s all that matters. People are always going to have opinions.”

Now I’m not saying I’m going to go out and buy a puppy. But I agree with him. I am always going to ask for feedback from those that I trust, it’s just part of my decision making process. However at the end of the day I need to take others’ opinions for what they are – opinions, not facts. I enjoy getting feedback and discussing my life with those around me, but after I make a decision I need to be confident that it’s the right one. And so today, on this happy Friday morning I am really relating to the quote the more you love your decisions, the less you need others to love them.

What about you? Do you ever find yourself getting battled down by people’s opinions about your life? Do you ask for advice from your friends and family?

if you’re lucky enough to remember the decision is yours, you’re lucky enough

 

Thoughts?

