A THOUGHT FOR FRIDAY: GIVING UP ON PERFECT

20130425-213442.jpg

I have a problem. Its name is PERFECT. Over the past few weeks I have been battling a pesky bug. I was feeling incredibly sick but I went to work every day. Why? Because I had NEVER called out sick and I couldn’t stand the idea of tarnishing my record. This past Sunday night I couldn’t sleep, I was coughing too hard and had the sweats. Monday morning when my alarm went off I looked in the mirror and finally gave it up. I called my boss and I crawled back into bed. The miraculous thing that happened was after resting all day Monday, I felt better.

I spent over two weeks feeling awful because I wouldn’t miss going to the gym, I wouldn’t miss work, and I wouldn’t change my plans and stay home. It’s too stressful trying to be “perfect” and in this case it did so much more harm than good. Maybe I could have fought my cold in less than a week if I had just slowed down and listened to my body.

I found a great quote that sums up how I am feeling today: “Striving for excellence motivates you, striving for perfection demoralizes you.” – Harriet Beryl Braiker.

I went back to work on Tuesday, to bed early every night and skipped waking up early for the gym. And now I feel so much healthier! I’m ready for the weekend (with my sister visiting – yay!) and I’m ready to get back to my normal schedule next week.

How do you deal with the pressure to be perfect? Do you find yourself struggling to decide how much is too much?

if you’re lucky enough to learn to let go of perfection, you’re lucky enough

2 thoughts on “A THOUGHT FOR FRIDAY: GIVING UP ON PERFECT

  1. Yep, I struggle with this a lot! What I believe is that focusing on being perfect prevents us from seeing our blessings and truly live life. But knowing that doesn’t mean I automatically give in or let go at the right time – it’s a constant struggle, really. Good for you for recognizing it and giving yourself a break!!

    • I completely agree with you! What a great way of putting it, that it prevents us from truly living life. And thank you, it took me an entire week to realize it but at least it happened eventually.

Thoughts?

