A REVIEW: THE HAPPINESS PROJECT

IMG_0373I have already openly admitted that I adore “self – help” books. There is something very therapuetic to me about being continously conscience about what makes me happier or how to be a happier person. Gretchen Rubin’s book, The Happiness Project: Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun has been popular for several years now. I actually purchased it about a year ago and started reading it on my plane ride from California to Chicago for the big move. For one reason or another, I put it down. Fast forward months later and I finally picked it up again and breezed through it.

Rubin realizes one day while riding a bus that she isn’t focusing on what is important. “The days are long but the years are short.” And so she spends an entire year devoted to a project towards making her life happier. The book is separated into twelve sections as she focuses on specific goals for each month. Her writing is fun and at times I found myself laughing along with her journey. Being that she is a married woman with two children, some of her struggles and theories don’t directly apply to me, and yet I still found reading about them interesting and worth trying to remember for my future.

I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars. Rubin is a great writer. Her stories are personal and often times humorous. Her advice is great. The only critiscm I have, the only reason I wouldn’t give her a solid 5 out of 5 stars is a slight relatability that is missing. Not only do I not have children or a husband, but in some instances it is clear that Rubin had money to spend on this project. Only a small handful of times I found myself rolling my eyes at her advice – buying 10 new white t-shirts because that is what she likes to wear, buying expensive pretty organizational aids to declutter, ect.

At the end of the book I found myself incredibly inspired and wanting to partake in my own happiness project of sorts. I have become even more aware of my happiness and my overall well being. This book make me reevaluate what I think is important. This book made me want to try harder to be a happier person. And this book made me realize that wanting to be happy isn’t always selfish. And really, what more can you ask from one little book?

Have you read Gretchen Rubin’s book? What did you think?

if you’re lucky enough to be inspired by a great book, you’re lucky enough

Thoughts?

