SELF HELP WANTED

The Bean Chicago

(A photograph of my most recent trip to the Bean at Cloud Gate. See my other photographs of this beauty here.)

When people ask me how I am enjoying living in Chicago, my immediate answer is: “I love it! Chicago is such a great city.” And after they inevitably ask me the typical winter weather questions I always end up coming back to the same conversation – something about Chicago just inspires me. Something about Chicago makes me want to become a better writer. Something about Chicago makes me want to take hundreds of photographs. Something about Chicago makes me want to be happier.

I have a fascination with understanding how I feel, what I like, what I don’t like, and what I want. And  I just recently realized through talking with friends and coworkers how much I love “self- help” books. I just recently realized how silly some people think the idea of reading about self exploration is. I just recently realized how much I don’t care what those people think.

I’m currently reading the popular book The Happiness Project and learning so much. I’m learning that I’m really good at some things such as always laughing and being able to see the bright side of things. But I’m also learning things that I can work on like not being afraid of failure and appreciating how challenge is beneficial. These past few months in Chicago have been a huge growing experience for me. I’m in a new city, meeting new people and I believe truly growing up. And I’m finding out how much fun it is.

How about you? Do you feel embarrassed to pick up a book from the “Self Help” section of the library or bookstore? Do you enjoy learning more about happiness?

if you’re lucky enough to enjoy learning more about yourself, you’re lucky enough

3 thoughts on “SELF HELP WANTED

  1. Hello there, I do think your site could possibly be having web browser compatibility issues.
    Whenever I take a look at your web site in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in
    IE, it’s got some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to give you a quick heads up! Aside from that, wonderful website!

  2. Pingback: A REVIEW: THE HAPPINESS PROJECT | Lucky Enough

Thoughts?

