A CHICAGO FAVORITE: THE BEAN / CLOUD GATE

I am typically one of those angsty people almost against chains and touristy “things.” However, some places, some sites, some restaurants are tourist attractions for a valid reason — because they are fan flipping tastic. And my friends, Cloud Gate {aka THE BEAN} is fan flipping tastic. This weekend Johanna and I ventured to The Bean – finally. I was giddy on the bus ride and nearly jumping with excitement when we got there.

The statue is beautiful. It is one of the most photographed places in Chicago, which is so understandable when you see it. You cannot help but want to take hundreds of photos. I’m proud to say I limited myself to 30. Johanna and I are extremely excited about returning to take pictures sometime at night, and when it’s really snowy out, and when it’s really sunny.

The history of Cloud Gate is pretty interesting too. It hasn’t been around very long, only about 6 years now. Yet it has such a place in Chicago, according to me at least. And! It is washed by hand twice daily. How cool is that? Guys, I think I am smitten with this city.

 

if you’re lucky enough to visit The Bean in Chicago, you’re lucky enough

2 thoughts on “A CHICAGO FAVORITE: THE BEAN / CLOUD GATE

  1. Pingback: DOG SLEDDING IN BRECKENRIDGE, CO | lucky enough

  2. Pingback: SELF HELP WANTED | lucky enough

Thoughts?

