PACKING GETS ME A THINKIN’…

I hate packing. I mostly hate it because I’m often reminded of how much stuff I have. And I’m reminded that so much of the stuff that I do have, I do not need. And then I feel bad about myself.

And then I think “Lizzie, here is what you are going to do. You are going to donate all of your stuff. You are going to live off of only what you need. You’ll only have to pack maybe 5 boxes, because everything else is going to Goodwill.”

And then I look at my picture frames filled with beautiful memories. And my sea of shoes that make my heart happy. And my unnecessary amount of earrings that truly put a spring in my step. And I realize that I attach so many personal feelings to so many innate objects. Everything I own becomes something I adore. And that stuff that doesn’t, well of course I’ll donate.

It’s not about having what you want, it’s about wanting what you’ve got. And I sure as shooting love what I got. Of course I don’t need every single pair of shoes I own and I absolutely don’t need all of the clothes in my closet. But gosh they make me happy. So hop on board boxes, you’re all coming with me to Chicago.

if you’re lucky enough to love the things you have, you’re lucky enough

2 thoughts on “PACKING GETS ME A THINKIN’…

  1. oh man i coulda written this myself! just recently we moved across country and it wasn’t until we UNPACKED everything that I realized i have too much stuff. and most of that stuff has a memory or some sentimental value to it so it’s so hard to throw away. i just don’t need the clutter but don’t have the heart to get rid of it.

  2. I will immediately grab your rss feed as I can not in finding your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you have any? Please allow me know in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

Thoughts?

