EVERYTHING I NEED TO KNOW, I LEARNED FROM DR. SEUSS

i have had excellent mentors in my life. i have been in the classrooms of many inspirational teachers, i have learned oodles from my parents, and i have gained more life experience than is probably appropriate with my friends. but i believe the most valuable of my knowledge, all that i really need to know, i learned from dr. seuss. i believe a little light reading from the man behind the genius work that is the grinch can always solve any major life crisis.

1. problem: i don’t feel special.
dr. seuss: “you are you. now, isn’t that pleasant?”

yes, dr. seuss, it is.  i am the only person who can say “i’m lizzie!” and that is absolutely pleasant. i’m special by default! who else in this entire world can fit 23 grapes into their mouth? who else in this entire world can memorize song lyrics after only one, maybe two, listens? who else in this entire world is me? oh, that’s right nobody.

2. problem: i feel judged.
dr. seuss:
“be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”

i like to sing in my car. i laugh extremely loudly and uncontrollably sometimes. and i think my own jokes are hysterical. my friends don’t mind. strangers stare and judge, but dr. seuss you nailed it – they don’t matter.

3. problem: i’m not sure what to do after i graduate.
dr. seuss:
“you have brains in your head. you have feet in your shoes. you can steer yourself in any direction you choose. you’re on your own, and you know what you know. and you are the guy who’ll decide where to go.”

my boss probably did not want me to quit. but, i quit. my mom probably wants me to start working again as soon as i graduate. but, i think i want the summer off. my dad absolutely wants me to live in northern california. well, I might agree with this one. dr. seuss you paint such an obvious, but well overlooked picture. my feet are mine, and i am going to continue to walk wherever these feet, my feet, decide to go.

4. problem: i’m lonely.
dr. seuss:
“all alone! whether you like it or not, alone is something you’ll be quite a lot.”

i am needy. i like to be entertained at all times. i like to talk to my friends. strangers will even do at times. but dr. seuss, you are right. i need to be my own greatest source of entertainment.

5. problem: it’s raining out.
dr. seuss: “just tell yourself, duckie, you’re really quite lucky!”

why didn’t i think of this? i’m extremely lucky that i get to wear my cute as puppies playing with babies rain boots. dr. seuss you’re absolutely right. luck is believing you are lucky.

dr. seuss has saved me a pretty penny on therapy. his words are wise, his rhymes are clever, and his poems are out of this world inspiring. regardless of the severity of the situation, i believe that the words of dr. seuss can solve any crisis.

so happy birthday you ol’ slugger you. and thank you, thank you, thank you for being so wonderful.

if you’re lucky enough to be inspired by dr. seuss, you’re lucky enough

One thought on “EVERYTHING I NEED TO KNOW, I LEARNED FROM DR. SEUSS

Thoughts?

