the pub life

lucy, rachel, lauren, and i have gone out two nights in galway now. and so far, we’ve had a great time. we’ve ventured into some of the most famous pubs in the main downtown galway center: the kings head, taffes, and the front door.

 

the kings head had a great irish cover band. they played mostly american rock songs, i’m assuming because they knew that the pub was packed mostly with americans. taffes was probably my favorite pub that we’ve visited yet. there was an older irish group that played traditional irish music. they even played galway girl for us, which was of course a major hit. last night we stayed at taffes until they closed and then went to the front door. the front door was absolutely packed. we were sardines all squeezed together. but we chatted up some older irish men which was interesting and again stayed until they closed.

my main goal for this trip is to find a favorite pub and become a regular. i have had a great time so far, but it’s so new to all of us. we all walk into the pubs like giddy little girls, eyes wide open, ready to experience. but after we settle in a bit, i’m really hoping to bond with one or two pubs that will become my spot.

if you’re lucky enough to be in irish pubs, you’re lucky enough

2 thoughts on “the pub life

  1. hi there!
    i came across your blog while browsing Go Overseas website! I just wanted to say i LOVE your quotes at the end of each post “if you’re lucky enough….”
    I spent 3 months living in Ireland in the summer of 2009 and i still regard it as the best three months of my life. I was based in Dublin with an internship at Trinity College but I had a couple opportunities to visit Galway. I fell head over heels with the entire country, culture and people. I’m actually a little jealous that you are starting your journey of a lifetime – as I kinda wish I was back in Ireland again.
    Anyways, just wanted to drop a line. I had my own blog while I was in Ireland but its a little outdated – but feel free to check it out at jessirelandtrip.wordpress.com
    I am a few months away from travelling again – this time to southern China for a few months.
    Take care and all the best,
    Jessica

    • thanks jessica! i checked out your blog a bit, but i am definitely going to have to spend some time on it later. and china! wow. you’ll have to keep us updated on your travels as well.

Thoughts?

